Another Year – A Look Back at Age 21

Today is my birthday. I was born at around 5pm, so I can now officially say that I am 22 years old. It’s strange to think that I’m ‘in my 20s’ or that I’m a ’20-something’, but the world is a strange place, no?

I thought that, considering my absence from this blog, I would take this opportunity to review the past 12 months that I lived as a 21 year-old.

March 2012

Got first significant other – yes, I started dating my first girlfriend at the age of 21. I was ecstatic to say the least. Turns out I’m not undateable after all!

April 2012

End of school – I completed my second year of my undergraduate degree. I even had good marks. This was a confidence booster I needed, as the first year of university knocked me down (as it does to most students [I tell people that if you don’t think about dropping out at some point during first year, you’re doing something wrong])

May 2012

Hired – I got my first real job this month i.e. one where the government knows and takes taxes off your wages. 

Musical chairs – my housemates moved out (including my girlfriend), and new ones moved in. It was…interesting.

June 2012

Sleep is for the weak – I didn’t do much during June, and this meant I was up at all hours of the night. I more or less became nocturnal. Sometimes I wouldn’t be able to get to sleep, so I’d just give up, and stay awake until the next day rolled around. Not good.

July 2012

Work begins – Work was interesting. I met some really lovely people, both coworkers, and kids that I was working with. Work is just that though: work! Issues came up from time to time, I even spoke out about it at one point (which sort of got me in trouble, but I don’t even care, I’m proud of myself for being brave enough to speak up).

August 2012

More work – This was peak time at work, and man, was it busy at times! Worth it though; I got to go to some cool places, and make money at the same time.

Goodbye – Departure of my summer housemates. This was both good and bad; I was happy to see one go, but sad about the other 2.

September 2012

Apart – My parents split up. This was a long time coming, but that didn’t make it any easier. I  was upset not over the fact that they separated, but for the way that it was done (without telling my brother or I).

New housemates – 3 new interesting girls moved in. We got along smashingly!

Apart II – My girlfriend and I split up. I was heart broken. 

October 2012 

Endure – Most of October was spent just trying to get through the day. I was quite depressed because of the break up. Many, many, many tears were shed. I imagine I was quite dehydrated.

The Doctor – My house began an epic Doctor Who watching marathon. Two of us were Whovians, and one other wanted to watch. Long, wonderful hours were spent on the couches.

November 2012

Tea – My house had a tea party, complete with dress up and decorations. I don’t think any of us realized how much we were going to enjoy the party. We ended up spending about 3 hours playing 21 questions. So much fun!

Support – I joined a society for ‘mad’ students. This was a handy way for me to get out of the house and meet people, but not be too uncomfortable (hey, they’re just as crazy as me, right?! 😀 ). It was good for me, and I’m glad that I have something like this group in my life.

December 2012

Home again, home again – I had a good 3 week break from school, during which I returned home. I spent lots of time visiting my friends (I officially have a spot on the couch as I slept there so often), and family (even the ones I DIDN’T want to visit). 

Friend love – You don’t always realize how much your friends mean. I’m very lucky to have such good friends, even if I don’t get to see them very often. I was gifted a plush toy my two of my friends, which I now hold when I need to be reminded that there are people out there who care about me.

January 2013

New housemate (again) – After the [sad] departure of one housemate in December, we had a new girl move in. She’s super friendly, smart, and interesting. I don’t see her very often as she is an incredibly busy person, but I’m always happy when I talk to her.

February 2013

Music – I really got back into playing classical guitar, something I’d not done for quite some time. I’m not one to do something half-way, so I jumped right into it. Sore fingers were had. Calluses were gained. Music was played.

March 2013

Pig out – A housemate and I feasted! There was pizza, and cake and samosas. We ate way too much. I still feel a little bloated from it! However, it was a pretty good night, and we enjoyed ourselves, even when we couldn’t move off the couches because we were too full.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

