I’m never calling it dysthymia again!

Dysthymia also goes by the name ‘neurotic depression’. No clue why I didn’t know that; I’m a little shamed of myself. But neurotic depression sounds far more exciting/frightening to me! I like it. I like it a lot. I don’t think I’ll actually switch terms, but I get a perverse sort of joy from knowing I have ‘neurotic depression’.

I know it’s not for everyone, having such a flippant attitude towards their mental health, but I figure ‘hey, why not have some fun with it?!’. I choose to embrace my madness. It doesn’t make me any better or worse than anybody else; there are a lot of other people out there with their own issues. It doesn’t make me weird. It doesn’t ruin my life (hmmm…although I could argue this one a bit). I just makes me ‘me’! 🙂

What about you? Are you like me, and just take your problems and run with them with a smile on your face (or at least some psychotic laughter)?

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. I embrace that you embrace your madness! From a distance, of course because I don’t want to catch anything. I have enough of my own, thank you very much. I’m more of a clandestine, stalker-y madwoman type; I don’t want people to know I’m all kinds of crazy, but I fully endorse this quality (and public display of same) in others. I’ll be over here, just let me know when the next episode is on.

    Reply
    • haha don’t worry, I don’t think I’m contagious! I think if you can call yourself ‘a clandestine, stalker-y madwoman type’ you are embracing your crazy in your own way 🙂 and I can understand not wanting people to know everything (besides, stalking isn’t nearly as fun when people know lol)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

