Little Things

Sometimes, people with depression can forget to appreciate the little things. The dark thoughts can cast a dark shadow that hides small pleasures. I know there are many simple things that I take for granted. However, there are many that I do truly appreciate.

A couple of summers ago I was in Niagara Falls. I got to go on the Maid of the Mist, a boat which takes you up close to the falls. I recounted the tale to my at-the-time-partner. She had done the same boat ride before, but was much less enamoured with it. She asked me what I liked about it. I said that I enjoyed being on the water and feeling the spray of the mist on my face. I’ve always lived near a body of water – never been more than a couple of kilometres away. I grew up near the shore of Lake Erie. I was close to Lake Ontario in university. I’m quite close to the Detroit River now. I love the water. I always have, and I hope I always will. I’m not sure if that’s what made the difference between my experience and hers. She remarked that she wished she could appreciate a small things like mist on her face more, as I do. This comment has stuck with me.

Bonus picture of food I made. I was so full after eating; I wanted to take a nap.

Bonus picture of food I made. I was so full after eating that all I wanted was to take a nap.

Quite recently, I’ve been cooking a bit more. I’ve had the energy for it (and school work that I’ve wanted to procrastinate on!). It makes me happy. I’ve made some desserts. I cooked some soup (I make a damn good pot of soup). I’ve baked some bread. Baking bread is especially pleasurable to me. I like bread a lot. I like warm, fresh-baked bread even more! It can be hard work and a long wait to create a loaf or some rolls, but when I’m breaking the bread to eat I don’t even think about all that. I am so very happy just to eat some bread.

As for the small pleasures which I neglect, I am working to become more cognizant of them. I often brush off small compliments. It is easy to forget about them and focus on negative comments. Clearly, it is important to make note of the negative things; how else would I ever learn from anything? That doesn’t mean the compliments don’t matter. If somebody says “You look nice today.” or “You’re so funny!” or “Thanks, you’ve been a help to me.”, I, and anybody else who is receiving such a compliment, should take it and run with it.

A good thing is a good thing, no matter how small.

Leave a comment

14 Comments

  1. Been learning this myself. And it’s something one learns over and over again, eh?

    Reply
  2. lifeofmiblog

     /  December 3, 2014

    Love the water. Love sitting by a river/stream and watching the water go by. Love the ocean, hence my love of cruising. Love cooking, make amazing roast dinners, curries, and really authentic Chinese (particularly sichuan and other western china dishes). And bread, yeah Indian (from India) breads, pizza, focaccias, fruit loaves, etc.
    I can get really enthusiastic when talking about these things and know exactly what you mean. It surprises me though how many people look at me very strangely when I get wound up…maybe I just go toooo far!

    Reply
    • haha I’ve experienced those strange looks too! I almost feel bad for those people – they’ll never understand the excitement!

      Reply
      • lifeofmiblog

         /  December 3, 2014

        Yep i have to say i prefer it to any drugs I’ve had…

      • Perhaps I should give a response akin to that when I hear people talking about the last time they were ‘soooo high: “That’s nothing, having you tried bread?! I was so sleepy and content after!”

      • lifeofmiblog

         /  December 5, 2014

        Wow Sally, I want what you’re having…

  3. the small things are what truly counts in life. reading in bed, cheese and tomato sandwiches at the beach, climbing a tree and looking around. things that you can do whenever you want.

    Reply
  4. Right off the bat, you nail it; depression enables us to forget the small good things about life. That’s what makes it so impactful, it consumes us 100%.

    Reply
  5. Joe

     /  January 19, 2015

    When we don’t really believe the compliments because we always expect the negative and we have trained our minds to accept the bad as normal; the goods seems much easier to reject. The smell of baking bread is wonderful and I think it makes people happy. Being cognitive of the world while sitting by the ocean where there is not a lot of people is a great way to clear your head.

    Reply
  1. Depression and Anxiety – Where am I at? | My Blog About Living With My Mental Illness
  2. “Sunny day”, “Oh yeah” – Depression and grandchildren | My Blog About Living With My Mental Illness

Leave a Reply

