Art post – Ad astra per aspera

I’m afraid I don’t have too much to say today. I’ve been having a bit of a rough time, and I’m still trying to work through the ideas stirring about in my head. It’s difficult for me to put them into words until I’ve made some sense of them.

So, instead of words, I’ll share with you a painting I recently did. The photograph I took of it is not the best representation of it, but it will do. Clicking on the image should open it it full, slightly blurry, resolution.

The words ‘ad astra per aspera’ are Latin for ‘to the stars through hardship’. I heard the phrase not so long ago and even though it’s a bit hokey, it stuck with me.

Painting - 'Ad astra per aspera'

I see so many flaws in this painting. I see places where paint is too thick or thin. I see places where I’d have liked to change the colour a bit. I try not to look at how wonky the letters are, because that’s just plain upsetting!

I’m sure somebody else could look at it and not notice any of those things. I am my own greatest critic.

Despite its flaws, I have this painting sitting in my room. The colour brings me a little happiness. I’ll take whatever little bit of happiness comes my way.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. lifeofmiblog

     /  March 12, 2015

    Sorry to hear your situation, but the painting is inspiring (how could anything about the stars not be!) I think it’s very good actually and if you didn’t mention the flaws everyone would think they were meant to be there. I actually long to be able to paint, the moment I get a pen/pencil in my hand I start doodling, almost everything I own has doodling on it. My wife got me some charcoal pencils and sketching instruction books to get me started….then we moved house and I’ve been too busy ever since. Maybe soon!

    Reply
    • Than you šŸ™‚ Maybe you’ll have more of an inkling to take up drawing when he weather i worse. Art can be very therapeutic!

      Reply
      • lifeofmiblog

         /  March 14, 2015

        Maybe…charcoal goes well with bleak weather

Leave a Reply

