Change of Scenery

I fought tooth and nail to avoid spending the holidays with my family and friends this past year. I was in such a bad state of mind that I didn’t feel like being around people (especially when people would be merry-making). I just wanted to be left alone with my misery.

Despite my protests, I ended up ‘going home’ for a visit anyway. In truth, my family and friends didn’t give me much of a choice – they were quite adamant I was going to visit them! And you know what? The change of scenery was good for me.

I totally expected to spend most of my time completely miserable. That’s how I was spending my time, so I figured it would continue. But just being in a different place and around different people helped my state of mind. I wasn’t necessarily all smiles and laughter, but I also wasn’t hobbled by my anxiety and depression. It was okay.

Now that the holidays are over and I’m back in my normal environment, I can feel the miserable state of mind creeping back in. I can’t just pick up and visit my family and friends whenever I want, but I think I can still use a change of scenery as a way of shaking my bad mood.

So, when I’m feeling poorly, I’ll try to switch things up. This might mean going for a walk, or heading to the store, or it might just mean stationing myself in a different room (It’s cold outside, but it’s nice and warm in here! 🙂 ) Hopefully I’ll see some benefit from this.

Anybody have any experience with this? Anybody think this would help them? Drop it in the comments 🙂 I’d love to hear from you!

All the best to all of you!

X

Michelle

Leave a comment

17 Comments

  1. Hey, I know what it feels like. Stay strong😊

    Reply
  2. Sometimes you have to force yourself,and even a small change can help,I know that grey blanket follows me.Hold on!

    Reply
  3. Meesha

     /  January 15, 2016

    A change of perspective can do so much, well written! Thanks for sharing it’s so nice to take comfort that others have these moments and can help!

    Reply
  4. I know exactly the dread you felt prior to visiting your family. In my case, it went the other direction, with family coming to me. But I wasn’t really looking forward to it. As with your experience, it was better than I expected. (It didn’t hurt that my grandson turned 1 year old during his visit.)

    But I also realize that this pleasure was merely distraction. The depression was/is always there, waiting to reassert itself. I’ve come to see that I’ve had depression for nearly 50 years and during most of that time I didn’t “see” it because my life was filled with distractions: dating, marriage, raising a family, jobs, hobbies, vacations. The depression pushed its way in occassionaly during all of that, but I could dismiss it then. Now that the kids are grown and gone, I find the depression is able to remind me it’s been there all along.

    I am glad you got some respite.

    Reply
    • I think I know what you mean about things being ‘distractions’ from the depression. But, I guess I’ll take the distractions and the break from sadness when I can get it so I have the strength to get through the bad times 🙂

      Reply
    • Amanda

       /  May 11, 2017

      This scares me a lot. That without distractions of life, I am still broken? I don’t mean to turn your comments into the negative, but I do feel like it is always there lurking and waiting to pounce. The cost of digging it out is just too much. And so we keep it buried.

      Reply
  5. Lilly

     /  January 23, 2016

    Sometimes I do the same thing. Just moving around for the empty thoughts to creep back in .

    Reply
  6. Thank you for your post-I can truly empathize. I’m right at this moment going through a particularly bad time. That hopeless “I’m always going to feel this way”. I too have a blog-Depression-A Misunderstood Subject. I post the good with the bad. I don’t believe always posting the victories without the other side of the story really does anyone any good.
    Thank you for being transparent on this subject. I’m sure you encourage many people.

    Reply
  7. My wife suffers from mild depression. I have found that it is difficult during the winter to get her out of he house. I think it would help even if we just went for a ride.

    Reply
  8. Yes, I have experienced that a change of scenery can lift my mood slightly, at least for awhile. And even if the depression returns soon after, the break was worth it! For a few moments or hours I can remember what it’s likes to feel engaged in life, to enjoy being with people. It feels good to have people happy to see me, me! Helps me remember that I haven’t totally lost myself to this illness, even though it sure feels that way sometimes. Glad you were able to enjoy a holiday you were dreading.

    Reply
  9. Jeweł

     /  February 13, 2016

    I need help. I’m fourteen years old and I think I may have a form of depression. I don’t know what to do. My sleeping and appetite have been irregular, I’ve had several nights when all I wanted to do was cry. I find that I’m actually never happy. Sure, I can act happy and make it seem like everything is okay and sometimes I fool myself but I know that I’m not. Advice?

    Reply
    • The best advice I can give is to try to talk to somebody, and to to eat and sleep well. Talking to somebody (anybody – a friend, a parent, anybody you trust) about your problems or your feelings can be really useful, and they might be able to help. Eating and sleeping well is really hard (especially when you’re a teen!) but it is important because it helps keep your body healthy – healthy body, healthy mind.

      These thing won’t necessarily make you happy, but they can make life a little easier.

      Stay well, okay? I’m hoping for the best for you 🙂

      Reply
  10. trevorharley

     /  February 22, 2016

    I suffer from severe depression, and when you’re bad, you’re bad. There are occasions though when things are in the balance, and I find the cliches of exercise and getting outside might help. Sadly they are not infallible, particularly when things are really bad. Good luck with your battle.

    Reply
  11. i had this exact same thing happen to me this year over the holidays except the misery continued throughout. falsifying smiles for people who supposedly care about you yet don’t pick the phone to see how you’re doing or even have the decency to return your calls. as soon as you miss a call you’re the bad person.

    regardless of how hard i try i literally feel like i can’t keep up.

    Reply
    • 7Angels

       /  August 9, 2016

      You describe my experience perfectly, yet it’s not just over the holidays. And no, I can’t keep up either and because of that, I feel as though I’m only a sliver of a person–someone not worthy like other people are.

      Reply
  12. 7Angels

     /  August 9, 2016

    I’ve learned that, as difficult as it is to get to a change of scenery (a store, a visit with a friend, or whatever) it does seem to help for a while. Strangely, being “out there” constantly, like working in a job, can make it almost worse. I’ve never figured out why that is.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

