Review: HOW TO BE HAPPY – Lee Crutchley

cover of HOW TO BE HAPPY  bookYou know how you shouldn’t judge a book by its cover? You shouldn’t judge a book by its genre descriptor either. I’ve read a fair few self-help books; I’m willing to bet you have too. I’ve got a pretty good idea of what self-help books are like. So, I was surprised when I received my copy of Lee Crutchley’s HOW TO BE HAPPY (OR AT LEAST LESS SAD). I was expecting a self-help book like any other, but it is a little different from other self-help books.

First off, it’s a workbook filled with activities (If you’ve done CBT, ACT, or similar therapies, you’ll probably recognize some of the activities.). With this book, you can cut right to the chase and do helpful activities instead of just reading about them. I believe a lot of us spend enough time sitting around thinking when we should be doing!

Second, it’s a fairly modest book. The author doesn’t claim expertise. There are no assumptions that the book will cure you. There is even acknowledgement that not all activities will work for everybody. However, there is a good range of activities, and I think there is something there for everybody.

When flipping through the book, the first thing I noticed was the fun design. It is decidedly more pleasant that the photocopies-of-photocopies-of-worksheets you usually get in therapy sessions. The second thing I noticed, upon closer inspection, was that it is witty. I caught myself truly laughing out loud more than once (and couldn’t we all do with a laugh?)!

If you’re looking for a nice book of activities to lift your mood, I think HOW TO BE HAPPY could be just the thing for you. Will it work for you? Well, I can’t tell you that, but the book comes with my recommendation, nonetheless! I’ve been working on a few of the activities myself (though I still can’t bring myself to write in the book; the idea makes my eye twitch), and I’ll be sure to report in with any excellent results.

If you’re in the US, HOW TO BE HAPPY hits shelves near you today. If you’re in the UK, sit tight till July. Regardless of geography, you can take a peek on Amazon. Also, check out the #HTBHbook tag and/or one of these other reviews to see more information about the book, and even some of the activities. And, if you want to learn more about Lee Crutchley and his work, you can go to his site, leecrutchley.co.uk.

I don’t get paid to do reviews as I’ve not yet started a ‘will work for books’ campaign, so you’re looking at my honest opinions!

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Great response and thanks for the link!

    Reply
  2. lifeofmiblog

     /  May 5, 2015

    I will take your recommendation if it ever makes it this far…..I think that concept is good. I use the YOU app, a Jamie Oliver thing. It gives you an activity every day and the idea is you add a photo and comment. Take a look, it’s a bit of fun and I have found it actually helpful.

    Reply
    • That’s sounds like a useful app…I could certainly use a daily kick-in-the-butt. I’ll look into that!

      Reply
  3. Thanks for the info,have read a lot of books,but as you say we often need to also move,anything that’s touches us in whatever way helps!

    Reply
  4. That sounds like a good book, with realistic expectations. A lot of people find worksheets and the like to be very empowering.

    Reply

Leave a comment